Interview with the Author

After reading the title, memories of Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, and an adolescent Kirsten Dunst may have come to mind. Get it?

No? Okay, here are a few more hints: fangs, blood, San Francisco…

That’s right! All of these are elements from the movie, Interview with the Vampire. It’s one of my favorites, hence the title of this post. In the movie, Louis (Brad Pitt) is interviewed by a reporter. In this post, I am interviewed by Imani Wisdom, the founder of Pink Noire, for an Urban Ebook Fair that she hosted on Facebook. I am sharing the minimally edited interview here so you can get to know me as an author, and get advice about writing and publishing.

Happy reading!

Imani Wisdom: Good evening, Dr. McBride! How are you?

Dr. JessicaI’m doing well, Imani, thanks for asking.

IW: You have an extensive background in education. With that said, could you share something with your readers and colleague that may surprise us; such as, a hidden talent, a quirk, or a favorite food?

DJI’ll start with a hidden talent: I bake gourmet cheesecakes! A crowd pleaser is my banana pudding cheesecake. 

IW: Sounds yummy!

DJ: It is! I’m always trying new flavors, but even my plain one is delicious! I’ve perfected it over the years. For example, I used to buy the crust, now I make it from scratch. That puts it over the top!

IW: Homemade crust is always the best! Tell us more about your book, Almost a Statistic: A Remarkable Story of Drs. Vickie and Maurice, which BET hails as the most inspirational story of 2013. And why you felt compelled to share this story?

DJ: I was asked to write this book because so many people wanted to know more about this mother and son who inspired so many.  Vickie was pregnant at just 13 years old, and the son she gave birth to just a couple of months after her 14th birthday, got in trouble with the law and dropped out of high school. Years later, they crossed the stage together as doctors. They are truly an inspiration.

IW: The story sounds amazing! What inspired Dr. Vickie to return to school and pursue her education after all of these years?

DJ: Dr. Vickie went straight to college after high school. By the time she earned her bachelor’s degree, she was married and had a second child. The master’s degree took years (start and stop), and she eventually decided to pursue a doctorate. She had been taught that the way to improve her life was through education, so she figured that the more education she had, the more likely it would be that she could support her growing family.

IW: So true; knowledge is (em)powerment! This story is so inspirational, that I’m wondering if anyone has approached you for a made-for-TV movie, or much more?

DJYes! We have been approached about a stage play, made-for-TV movie, and even about creating something for the big screen! It’s an exciting time! One director who is interested in telling the story is looking for a screenwriter.

IW: AWESOME! I’m looking forward to it. The story deserves a bigger platform. Are these wonderful individuals related to you?

DJ: LOL! Yes! I’ve been married to Dr. Maurice for two years now. In fact, our engagement story is what convinced me to actually begin writing. I’d always wanted to be a writer, but the way people reacted to our engagement story is what convinced me that I should share my talent with the world.

IW: Wow!!! That’s a beautiful story itself! And how are Dr. Vickie and Dr. Maurice doing today?

DJ: Both Dr. Vickie and Dr. Maurice are doing well. She teaches middle school, and he’s a professor at Paine College.

IW: God bless them both! Do you have plans to write another book?

DJ: I am currently working on a novel, and I have another idea I’m developing for television. The novel will be completed next year.

IW: Tell us more about the dance program you’ve co-founded, Imani Dance for Youth Development.

DJ: I started the Imani Dance Program for Youth Development with my business partner, Dr. Kwame King, when I was a fifth grade teacher. I saw that the children had no real knowledge of who they were, and had no real guidelines for how they should behave or who they should become. So in 1997, we created IDP to teach cultural self esteem through the performing arts. It’s hard to believe that we’re approaching our 20-year anniversary!

IW: As an educator, how do you feel about the state of our youth? With all that is going on the news; such as, gang activity, drugs, and the crumbling of the family structure, what we can as a community to help our children?

DJ: Our children are suffering. They lack knowledge of self, which means they don’t understand what nor how they should aspire to be. Telling them that they are kings and queens simply isn’t enough. We must go beyond what schools offer and teach them what we expect, and why they have a social responsibility to thrive and contribute to society. Gangs, drugs, and a deteriorating society aren’t new things, it’s just that their impact seems to be more powerful, but it can still be thwarted. Our community needs to support positive programs and do more than just take care of the children in our homes. After all, your children won’t marry someone in your family. They are all our children!

IW: In Indy, every time when the news reports an untimely death involving a teen or young adult, our city leaders go up in arms (which rightfully so), but they say the same thing and nothing ever gets done. I’ve been saying this years: There are no quick fixes when it involves our youth. Do you agree?

DJ: You’re right, there are no quick fixes, but we’ve got to do more than talk about fixing the problem. We have to be about action!

IWI’ve read you’ve edited books for popular indie authors. That said, if an aspiring author is reading this interview, explain why is editing your manuscript so crucial?

DJ: Excellent question! I’ll start by saying that although I am an editor, when I wrote my book, I had it edited. Yes, even the editor had an editor! That’s how important it is to ensure that what you thought you wrote is actually what was communicated to the reader. I also used beta readers. If you expect to offer quality work to potential readers, you much use an editor. If you don’t, you run the risk of ruining any chance you have of establishing yourself as a quality author.

IW: “Yes, even the editor had an editor!” I agree! Again, if someone is reading this interview, and wants to return to school to get their degree, or like someone I know, to get their GED, but have lingering doubts of fear, what would you say to them?

DJ: The person you know doesn’t want a GED, he or she NEEDS a GED! I would tell that person to take a GED prep course if one is offered locally through an Adult & Community Education (ACE) program or through an Adult Basic Education (ABE) program. Do it now! The GED exam can be taken in parts, so the learner doesn’t have to be overwhelmed by all of the content at once. Get over the fear and make it happen!

Regarding someone wanting to return to school to complete an undergraduate degree, or earn a graduate degree, again, I say do it! I encourage everyone to seek out funding sources other than student loans, however. Those should be a last resort. I’m proud to report that my student loan balance is $0 because I was creative about how I paid for my education and practiced managed borrowing.

 

IW: That’s amazing, because there are a lot of college graduates with massive debts from their loans. Aside from your other talents like writing and editing, what are you doing these days?

DJ: I’m also a professor. I teach graduate education courses, and undergraduate English. I’m also learning to sew.

IW: Really? Are you just now learning to sew, or are you in the intermediate stages?

DJI’m just learning to sew. I’ve taken a few lessons, and I always tell my husband that my first piece is going to be a Gordon Gartrelle for him.

IWAnd what is your ultimate goal with your new sewing skills? To create a new outfit?

DJ: My goal is to limit my dependence on others to meet my basic needs. I started gardening last year, and now I’m learning to sew. My mother and both grandmothers could sew, but it didn’t get passed down to me. Simply put, I need to be able to feed and clothe myself.

IW: During your journey as a writer/author, have you acquired any mentors along the way? If so, what advice did you they share with you?

DJ: Although I fulfill that role for several people in other personal and professional areas, I can’t really say that I had or have a mentor. One person that has been particularly helpful to me, however, is Barbara Joe Williams. Barbara was the first author I edited for, and watching her navigate the writing/publishing world has taught me quite a bit. She can vouch for me as an editor, as an author, and as a baker!

IW: Ms. Barbara is the best! What advice do you have for an up and coming author? Or for someone who aspires to be an editor?

DJIf you want to be an author, write! Don’t worry about editing or proofreading, just write! Wanting a perfect ending sometimes stops us from beginning, so we have to get over that. Some authors know the end of their story when they begin, and others don’t. Either way, just write! That way, you will give your editor something to work with and together you can craft your story into something wonderful!

If you want to be an editor, make sure you have a thorough understanding of the English language, and determine exactly what service you want to offer. Proofreading is different than editing. Also, there are different types of editors. Do the research before you offer your services. If you don’t, you could ruin your reputation before you build it.

IW: Your answer about editing is very, very true!!!

Dr. McBride, you’ve inspired me to get creative and to find other avenues to pursue my Bachelor’s Degree. I have my Associates, but I really desire to go further. I know the resources to pursue this goal, but for someone who don’t know, what do you recommend if they have exhausted their Pell grants, or the like?

DJ: Please do earn that degree, Imani. The first place I always encourage people to look is there jobs. Many companies offer total or partial tuition reimbursement. Additionally, many schools, particularly nontraditional ones, award credit hours for life experience and work skills. A person may not have to take as many classes as he or she thinks!

IW: Great advice! Thank you, Dr.McBride! This interview has not only been insightful, but inspirational! If someone wants to follow you online, where she should they go?

DJ: Here are my social media pages: Twitter: @DrJessicaWrites Instagram: DrJessicaWrites

This page will allow interested people to follow all three Dr. McBrides, including me.

IW: Oh, and are you still editing? And if so, what is the necessary contact information?

DJ: Yes, I’m still editing. If someone is interested in my services, he or she can contact me via Facebook, or email me at jkw1104@gmail.com . I have an additional service that I offer to people who have great book ideas, but need help getting started. It is explained here.

IW: Awesome! I’m sure someone will take advantage of this. And thank you so much for your time. I truly appreciate it!

DJ: The pleasure is all mine.

Leave a comment